Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

For as long as I can remember, I’ve celebrated Easter. As I child, my mother would dress my sister and I up in matching dresses, usually with a matching hat or bow. We would wear our special white gloves and fancy shoes. Even as a child, I knew this day was special. But for me, it was all about the egg hunt.

As I grew up, I began to truly understand the meaning of Easter and paid much more attention to the real reasoning behind why we celebrated it. However, I still looked forward to my overly competitive egg hunt with my sister and searching the house high and low looking for our Easter baskets.

And it wasn’t until recent years that I began to understand the significant importance of Good Friday. I think most people tend to lump all of Holy Week into one day. But when you stop and pay attention to each day within Holy Week, I think it makes the whole experience much more meaningful.

Good Friday has such a profound significance on the Christian faith. Celebrating Good Friday means you understand the crux of Christianity. It is the day we celebrate the fact that Jesus Christ chose to die for each and every one of us. But why do we call it Good Friday when this day is full of such sorrow? Well, because without Jesus’ selfless act.. we would be living by the law and not by grace. Good Friday is the reason we celebrate our salvation. And when we look at the cross.. when we see the image of Jesus dying.. we shouldn’t see anything but love… a love so amazing, so divine, so utterly outrageous that no matter how many times we spit on it, turn away from it or disown it, it continually pours grace and mercy upon us.

With Easter upon us, I pray that you reflect on the events leading up to Good Friday and those that fall thereafter. And I pray that you begin to look at the cross a little bit differently. Instead of being full of sorrow or even guilt.. may you look at it and only see love.

Below are the lyrics to “I See Love” by Third Day, Steven Curtis Chapman and MercyMe. It was made for The Passion of Christ.. and the video link includes a visual montage from the movie. Before you watch the video, prepare your hearts and gather some tissues. There really is no love greater.

“I See Love” (Video Link)
Some see a teacher
Standing on a hill
Speaking words of wisdom
Some see a healer
Reaching out his hand
To give sight to a blind man
Some see a dreamer
Wasting his life
On what can never be
Some see a fool
Dying for his dreams

But I see love (I see love)
I see love (I see love)
Light of heaven breaking through
Well I see grace (I see grace)
I see God’s face (I See Gods face)
Shining pure and perfect love
When I see you
I see love

Some see a prisoner
Alone before his judge
With no one to defend him
Some see a victim
Beaten and abused
With all the world against him
Some see a martyr
Carrying his cross
For what he believes
Some see a hero
Who set his people free

But I see love (I see love)
I see love (I see love)
Light of heaven breaking through
Well I see grace (I see grace)
I see God’s face (I See Gods face)
Shining pure and perfect love
When I see you

With your last breath
I see love
Through your death
I see love
I see peace in the eyes of the king
I see hope in your suffering (I see love)
I see a calm in the center of the storm
I see a Saviour

I see love
I see love
Light of heaven breaking through (heaven breaking through)
I see grace
I see God’s face
Shining pure and perfect love
When I see you
I see love
When I see you
I see heaven breaking through
See Gods face
Shining pure and perfect love
When I see you
When I see you
When I see you
I see love
I see love
When I see

Some see Him walking from an empty grave

