Tags

, , , , , , ,

“Why, you don’t even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes.” James 4:14

Have you ever thought about what people might say about you after you have left this place and gone home? Not this place literally.. but to the home where our souls belong. Have you ever thought about that?

Sometimes I think about what people will say when I’m only a memory. Did I show love when no one else would? Did I extend grace and forgiveness to those who may not have deserved it? Was I Jesus to the least of these? Was I the servant God called me to be? Did I worship with authenticity? Did I give beyond my means to better His Kingdom? Was I a Christlike example for my friends, the youth in my church or even my family? Did I spread the word of Jesus at any given opportunity? Was I proof of His love.. of His grace.. of His mercy?

I don’t know what people will actually say.. but I do know.. that I wanna live like that… so that they CAN say all of those things. I wanna give Christ all that I have.. recklessly abandoned.. never holding back. I wanna live so that every word I say.. everything I do.. points directly to Christ. It falls on us as Christians to show others what it really means to live like that – continually seeking the Lord and continually trying to live out the example of Christ.

Hebrews 12:1-2 says, ” Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith.”

When we leave this world, we want people to say “I want to live like that” – not because of how we live for ourselves, but because of how we let Christ live through us. Are you ready to live like that?

