Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Do you know Kristian Anderson? Yeah, probably not. I don’t know him either. But this man.. he is a true man of God. You see, Kristian was diagnosed with cancer (in his bowl and liver) on October 6, 2009 at the age of 34. Unfortunately, Kristian went to heaven on the 2nd of January, 2012 around 8am. He fought for two long years and in that time became such a witness of Christ to all those around him. His wife, Rachel, said his passing was truly peaceful and that he had a tear in his eye as he left. She said she has no doubt that he was looking into the face of Jesus. You can read all about his journey on his blog – how the light gets in.

But.. I wanted to share one of his posts with you.. titled At the foot of Heaven.

“There are Angels around my bed tonight.

Some are there for comfort, some are there to fight.”

When I was younger I was fortunate enough to work on a lot of concerts. Rock shows, theatre, church gigs and stinky, smokey pubs. It’s where I learned my craft. One show in particular was with a band named DC Talk at the now derelict Perth Entertainment Centre. The quote above is from Kevin Smith, one of the singers from the band.

I just got the call from the hospital and the test implant or “workup procedure” is confirmed for tomorrow. From 7:30am to around about 5pm Sydney time I will be under live X-Ray, CT Scanners and Gamma Cameras as they track blood flow and a dummy “tracer” particle, to see where it all goes and if my body’s blood vessels are still wired the right way to withstand the SIRT.

As much as I need this treatment, it requires a strength that I personally do not possess on my own. I’m pretty fragile right now, emotionally speaking.

I know what’s coming tomorrow and as much as I have said I will do anything to continue this fight, the thought of what lies ahead is daunting. I know the discomfort that’s coming. I know that for three hours afterwards I am going to have to lay perfectly still in recovery so the puncture in my Hepatic artery can heal. I know that about an hour before I am discharged Rachel and the kids will begin their journey to the hospital in peak hour traffic to come and pick me up. I know that when I see them it’s going to be a struggle to maintain my composure and not burst into tears. Tears of relief, tears of weariness. I know that Cody will probably remember last time he was there with me and that I bought him and Jakob a “special chocolate cake” from the cafe.

I hope I have the presence of mind to remember to get him another one.

I’m afraid. I am.

What if my “wiring” has changed? What if the answer is “no, it’s not safe”? The people administering this procedure have done it over 450 times before. They know what they’re talking about.

What if?

What if?

What if?

God, I know I said “be it unto me according to your will”…. and I stand by that. I’m going to be walking those corridors again tomorrow and I’m scared. All I’m asking is that you meet me there, the same way you did nearly a year ago.

In you there is no darkness, because you are light.

Scatter the darkness, God.

Bring light.

Bring life.

I’m aching for it.

He made it through that procedure. They say it went perfectly according to plan.

Kristian’s faith in God helped illuminate the darkness of his illness. And if you think about it, we are all facing darkness in one way or another. We all face different evils. We may not be struggling with cancer or another deadly illness, but we’re all facing something that keeps us from seeing the Light. We live in a world that’s filled with darkness and even when we try and see the Light.. it can be overpowered by the strength darkness has on us.

Yet, thankfully.. there is a Source for that light that is far greater than the darkness. And when we rely on that Light.. the darkness scatters. We find hope when all seems hopeless. We find peace and comfort in the most difficult of times. We find joy when the world tells us it’s not possible. With the Light of Jesus, we are able to makes the darkness of our world seem obsolete.

God doesn’t promise us days without struggle. He doesn’t promise us days without sorrow. And God certainly doesn’t promise us a life that would be easy. But He does promise us hope for tomorrow, strength to get through the days and an everlasting love that can overcome all evil.

Kristian says… In you there is no darkness, because you are light. Jesus is our Light and when we search for that Light.. we can overcome any darkness we may face.

Don’t let the darkness of your life defeat you. Don’t let it get the best of you. Instead, search for the Light. Let Him guide you to overwhelming freedom.

