Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

A lot of crappy things have been going on in the lives of some of my friends.. like majorly crappy things. A friend, who I went to elementary school with in Ohio, just lost her dad. A friend from high school lost her mom as well. She was fine one day, had an allergic reaction, went into anaphylactic shock and then she was gone. Another close friend of mine just found out her mom has cancer. The list could go on and on… and I’m sure you know of someone who is facing similar pain, if not yourself.

Life can be the pits sometimes. We all experience various life battles throughout our time here on earth. But unfortunately many people think that Christians live this awesome, glorious life without any problems or tragedies. Well, news flash… we don’t. We still have tragedies; it’s just that when they happen we have someone to turn to in order to help us overcome. We have hope in the Lord for a better tomorrow, for a greater plan. But, even though God helps us get through times of trial and tribulation, the pain is still the same. Pain still exists and the hurt is just as deep. However, when we put our trust in God and in His plan, He will help us turn our mourning into dancing.

Psalms 30:11-12 says, “You have turned for me my mourning into dancing; You have put off my sackcloth and clothed me with gladness, To the end that my glory may sing praise to You and not be silent. O Lord my God, I will give thanks to You forever.”

What a wonderful promise we have in Jesus, that He can turn our mourning into dancing! He replaces our sorrow with joy and gives us the hope for a better tomorrow that makes us want to shout with praises! While He doesn’t stop our mourning or eliminate it from happening in our lives, He does transform it. He transforms this anguish into great happiness. Instead of becoming bitter and depressed, God can lift the darkness out of our lives and replace it with the light of hope. In the scripture, David discovered that instead of becoming angry at his circumstances, he could be filled with a sense of thanksgiving and celebration.

So, yes, Christians still undergo temptation, betrayal, death, anger, etc., but we serve an almighty God that says that all things work together for good to them that love Him. (paraphrased via Romans 8:28) Instead of dwelling on our unfortunate circumstances, let us dwell on the promise He gives to each and every one of us.

No matter what is going on in your life.. remember that God still loves you, cares for you and has a wonderful plan in store for you. You may not see it now, especially amidst the trials you are facing, but believe me when I tell you the good news that God has promised us. He is right next to you, waiting for you to turn to Him. Commit all of your fears, doubts, angers, obstacles, whatever you may be facing.. commit every situation to Him. Because out of your hopelessness and anxiety, God will bring you encouragement and peace. Trust in Him and let Him turn your mourning into dancing!

Praise You With A Dance By: Casting Crowns (click here to listen to the song)

Verse:
I will sing to the Lord
And I will lift my voice
For You have heard my cry

I will sing to the Lord
And I will lift my hands
For You have brought me out of the pit
For You have brought me out of the pit

Chorus 1:
And I’ll sing glory, hallelujah
I lift Your name on high
And I’ll sing holy, ’cause You’re worthy
I’ll praise You with the dance
And I’ll sing glory, hallelujah
I lift Your name on high
And I’ll sing holy, ’cause You’re worthy
I’ll praise You with the dance
I will praise You with the dance
I will praise You with the dance

Repeat Verse

Chorus 2:
And I’ll sing glory, hallelujah
I lift Your name on high
And I’ll sing holy, ’cause You’re worthy
I’ll praise You with the dance
And I’ll sing glory, hallelujah
I lift Your name on high
And I’ll sing holy, ’cause You’re worthy
I’ll praise You with the dance

Music Intermission

Repeat Chorus 1

