Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

In the Academy of Strength classes I take at my local gym, there is a portion of the class devoted to kettlebell training. If you don’t know what kettlebells are, run far, far away. Haha. No, I’m just kidding. It’s a great workout, but be prepared to get your butt kicked.

The other day in class we were carrying kettlebells around the indoor track. But, we weren’t just walking around the track.. no, we were doing squats the entire way around. It was painful to say the least. And the closer I got to the end, the more and more I wanted to give up. The weight was so heavy and it was weighing me down on my knees more than I ever wanted it to. I could have paid someone to carry that weight for me.. anything to not have to bear the weight of that kettlebell alone. It was becoming unbearable. My hands were burning…my thighs were throbbing… my calves were screaming for help.. I was sweating profusely (oh wait, you probably didn’t want to know that…). But, I didn’t give up…. I stuck it out and made it all the way around.

In life, we carry similar weights. No, they may not actually weigh thirty or so pounds, but they tend to feel like they weigh a hundred. When we carry our burdens around the track of life, it weighs us down emotionally and physically. We can become depressed and even angry at the world. And there are times when we want to give up, but thankfully, we don’t have to…

God sent His Son to die on the cross, pay the price for us and to carry our burdens. He doesn’t want them to weigh us down, but rather He wants us to turn our burdens over to Him. He’s ready and willing to freely bear the weight for us. No matter what kind of burdens we are carrying with us, Jesus has already made the ultimate sacrifice to carry them around the track for us.

We all have our own types of kettlebells. But you need to know.. no matter what kind of weight you’re carrying.. God is right by your side ready to carry your burdens. You are not alone. It’s time to pass the weight over to Jesus.

