Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s 5:00 am and the most annoying noise in the world, called my alarm clock is blaring through my bedroom. Eyes still shut, I reach over and hit the snooze button. The dogs, however, are up and ready for the day to begin. They start barking and whining, hoping either Christopher or I hear them and will let them out. No such luck. We continue to ignore them successfully for a few more minutes, that is, until… Twizzler decided she didn’t want to wait any longer. Just as I opened my eyes, Twizzler clawed me right in the face. To be exact, right in my eye. I shrieked with pain and started to cry. Christopher wakes up and finds me in uncontrollable agony as Twizzler has literally scratched my eyeball. I can’t even begin to tell you how much pain I was in this morning. I did my best to tuff it out and went to the gym anyway. Towards the end of my workout, sweat got in my eye and this time the pain was excruciating. The pain would not stop and it was only get worse by the minute. I began to realize that I wasn’t going to be able to make it through the day without heading to the doctor.

I stopped by The Eye Place before work and thankfully was seen very quickly by the doctor, a fellow church member. He ‘fixed’ me all up and sent me on my way. He told me that Twizzler had scratched my right eye in three places right in the middle of my cornea, all of which were very deep. Awesome. Just awesome. And to think, all of this pain and agony could have been prevented if I had never hit the snooze button and just listened to Twizzler and Goober’s cries the first time…

Isn’t this the way we act towards God sometimes? He’s calling us, reaching out in some pretty incredible ways and still, we don’t listen. We ignore His calling for our life and dismiss the Holy Spirit speaking within us. We turn away with only our own priorities in mind. We constantly hit the snooze button on God. We think to ourselves… “No, you can’t possibly be talking to me..” or “Five more minutes, God, I’ll listen then, I promise..” or “Not now, God! I’m too busy!” I’m sure we’ve all used one of those excuses before and if not one of those, I’m sure something similar. We tend to prioritize our own wants out of life over what God wants for our lives. And it’s not until He ‘smacks’ us right in the face that He finally gets our attention. Our God is a patient god, but He also knows we need a wake up call every now and then.

We all have different wake up calls in life, but God’s purpose for each of them is all the same. He uses these ‘alarm clock’ moments to make us realize how much we need Him and how His plan is far better than our own. Without moments like those, we would go on through life continuing to think self-righteous thoughts and that we are invincible without God. The wake up calls allow us to really see how desperately we need Him in our lives. Sometimes, we may hit the snooze button just once and other times it might take ten or twenty, but thankfully God is persistent and will never give up on us. Have you hit the snooze button on God lately?

