Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Anybody watch Private Practice on ABC? If you don’t, you should. And if you used to and don’t any more, start watching it again. This past season was by far its best season thus far, almost surpassing my love for Grey’s Anatomy (which is very hard to beat).

The underlining theme for the season finale last night was “…To Change the Things I Can.” Lots of changes took place last night.. a new outlook for the practice, a marriage proposal, a book tour, a new relationship, etc. And towards the end of the episode, Charlotte says the Serenity Prayer to her husband, Cooper… “God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.

I’m sure we’ve all heard that a million times, but wouldn’t it make such a huge difference in each of our lives if we actually lived out that simple prayer?

Imagine how your life would be if you relied fully on Christ to give you the peace you needed to accept the things in your life you cannot change.. to not worry about tomorrow, but to live fully relying on Him to get you through. Imagine how your life would be if you asked God to give you the strength and the courage to go out and make a difference.. to live a life of purpose, solely for Christ and His Kingdom. Imagine how your life would be if you asked God daily for the wisdom to know the difference between the two and the wisdom to live His calling for your life. Imagine how your life would be, if only.. you lived out this not-so-simple Serenity Prayer…

My life would be completely different. I would worry less about my families’ financial situation and would rely fully on the fact that God will continue to provide as He has shown so faithfully in the past. I would seek His will with less apprehension and put more trust in His plan for my future. I would have the courage to follow the calling He has for my life.. no matter the worldly costs. Oh, how my life would be so different.

And just like they said in last night’s episode.. there is no time like the present.. tomorrow may be too late.. it’s time to make a change. It’s time to make that change right now.

But, what if you’re scared? What if the uncertainty of tomorrow is holding you back? For a lot of people, change is a very scary thing. The scare of the uncertainty, the scare of failure, the new adjustment of lifestyle and so forth. Change brings challenges and obstacles that many of us are scared of facing. But, the things is.. with this change.. we’ve got God by our side. God will see us through the change and this change is nothing to be scared of, as it offers something worth living for. “Nobody can go back and start a new beginning, but anyone can start today and make a new ending.” – Maria Robinson

I pray that God will work in all of our lives so that we may live a life of the Serenity Prayer, completely trusting Him. I pray that I change my outlook on life so that I continually seek His will and not my own. I pray that God takes away my apprehension and that His peace calms all my fears. I pray that I don’t wait until tomorrow, but that I make this change today, starting this very minute. Won’t you join me in the change?

