Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve come to a great realization. I am easily irritated. Okay, so maybe that it isn’t some historic revelation, however, I have been noticing it more and more lately.

For instance, let’s take yesterday. What could go wrong at work did go wrong. From errors in a document already sent to press to the never ending list of ‘to-do’s’ compiled on by co-workers constantly giving me more work. It never ended. I literally felt like I was being trampled by a herd of elephants. One thing after another, my day just got worse. And when it was finally time to leave for the day, I felt a weight lifted off my shoulders.. only for it to be ruined minutes later by the idiot going 45 in a 65 on Interstate 64. I am a spitting image of my father when it comes to driving and road rage. (I think I should probably join RRA.. Road Ragers Anonymous and if it doesn’t exist, I should start one up.) But this time, I wasn’t angry. I just lost it. There I was, driving down the Interstate wiping away my tears of frustration.

So once again, I was back to feeling trampled. And I honestly believe every idiot in Richmond was out driving yesterday around 5pm. I event tweeted about it. I haven’t been surrounded by that many horrible drivers in forever, like since I went to college up north. Everywhere I turned there was either someone talking on the phone, texting, reading (I’m not even joking) or putting on make-up. I’m surprised I didn’t come across any accidents yesterday. So, needless to say when I finally arrived home yesterday, besides thanking my lucky stars for my safe arrival, I was relieved to have most of the day behind me. The rest of evening consisted of watching Twizzler play with her boyfriend, Joey, eating a delicious meal prepared by one of my best friends and starting to organize the disasterness called VBS. In relation to the rest of my day, it was quite relaxing.

As I laid down in bed that night, I began to reflect on my day. I wondered what the starting point was of my frustration and where my tipping point was within it all. And the more I thought about, the more I realized how I wasted my day. I wasted my beautiful Tuesday screaming at people under my breath and wishing mean thoughts towards others. (If you’re ever on g-chat throughout the workday, you’ll know I was threatening ‘murder’ and that I was convinced I was going to spend the evening in jail.) Obviously, I could never and would never actually harm anyone, so no need to call the authorities. However, that can give you a brief picture of how my day was yesterday. But, like I said… I wasted yesterday with all of these horrible thoughts. Instead of killing people with kindness, I was more apt to use a kitchen knife.

I spent so much of my time yesterday being aggravated with the situations around me that I was letting it control my attitude. I let the devil weasel its way into my daily routine. And he knew that as soon as I left work, the drive home would be the icing on the cake for him. And I gave it to him. Instead of making the most out of what I was handed yesterday, I just let it consume me and as a result, I wasn’t responding in a very Godly manner. Shame on me.

It’s the little things in life that really aggravate me the most. Like the horrible drivers on the way home, instead of being grateful for my safe journey, I stayed aggravated at their ignorance. Losing my keys absolutely drives me up a wall and will, without a doubt, bring out the ugliest parts of me, just ask my husband. I hate losing things, especially when I’m running behind. And speaking of running behind, I hate it. I’m late for everything. I don’t even show up to work on time. I’m always late no matter where I’m going, but yet, I hate running behind. Yet, another small thing that brings out the worst in me. And when my cell phone calls the wrong person or doesn’t recognize the correct buttons I’m pushing, I’m ready to throw it against the wall or break it in half. (If you have little or no patience, don’t buy a touch screen phone.) However, when it comes to the major events and disasters of life, I’m right there, ready and willing to turn to God. He is my absolute Rock when it comes to the big things of life, like paying the bills, Twizzler’s cancer, death, natural disasters, etc. But, the little things is where I allow the devil to creep in and steal my faith.

But, thankfully, God is there is for me time and time again. And as a friend so lovingly reminded me, tomorrow (as in today) is a new day. What’s done is done and now it’s time to move on and make the most of my day today. She’s right. I screwed up. I let the worst of me come out when I should have let God take control of the situation. Those little things of life that drive me crazy are what God uses to strengthen my faith. They are things that He knows tests me and makes me put my faith on the line. I just need to keep on remembering that everything happens for a reason and He uses each one of those ‘little things’ to help me grow and become a better disciple of Him.

This Is The Stuff by: Francesca Battistelli (click here for the video that is clearly the theme song to my life)

I lost my keys in the great unknown
And call me please
Cause I can’t find my phone

(CHORUS)
This is the stuff
That drives me crazy
This is the stuff
That’s getting to me lately
In the middle of my little mess
I forget how big I’m blessed
This is the stuff
That gets under my skin
But I’ve gotta trust
You know exactly what Your doing
Might not be what I would choose
But this is the stuff You use

45 in a 35 
Sirens and fines
While I’m running behind

(CHORUS)

So break me of impatience
Conquer my frustrations
I’ve got a new appreciation
It’s not the end of the world…

This is the stuff
That drives me crazy
This is the stuff
Someone save me
In the middle of my little mess
I forget how big I’m blessed
This is the stuff
That gets under my skin
But I’ve gotta trust
You know exactly what Your doing
Might not be what I would choose
But this is the stuff You use

This is the stuff you use

