Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The other day I was sprucing up some photos in Photoshop and it got me thinking. (surprise, surprise)

As a photographer, I create the photographs. And I am also able to go back in Photoshop and edit the images to my liking. I can change the mood of the photograph based on the story I’m trying to tell and I can also fix little imperfections. If I so choose, I am able to brighten up the model’s eyes or erase acne or whatever. I can pretty much accomplish anything with my tools in Photoshop. As the designer, I have pretty much free reign to manipulate the image as I see fit.

So, as I was editing the photos, I started to think about how God tries to ‘photoshop’ us. He created us in His image and when give our lives over to Him, He is able to mold us as He sees fit. When we let God take control, He is able to shape us and prefect us according to His desires. He can perform the necessary actions in order better equip us to be His servants.

Isaiah 64:8 says, “But now, O Lord, You are our Father; we are the clay, and You, our Potter; and all we are the work of Your hand.” If we allow Him, God will mold, transform and sanctify us as we journey through this earthly life. He will take us and mold us, thus preparing us for any obstacle we may face or any opportunity we come upon.

2 Corinthians 3:18 says, “And we, who with unveiled faces all reflect the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his likeness with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.” The transformation within us is a process, but not an overnight one. When we trust God and take Him at His Word, He will be free to transform our hearts and minds. But just keep in mind that this transformation is continual and not immediate. Throughout our time here on earth, He is continually shaping us to be His disciples.

God wants to transform your heart and your mind. He wants to take your life and move mountains within it. As you reflect on the events that happened this week so very long ago, keep in mind that His actions were just for you. He died on the cross so that His grace could transform your life. Allow God to become the designer of your heart and let Him bring you to perfection.

