Tags

, , , , ,

My heart is full of joy this evening for some very good friends of mine who are spending their second night as husband and wife. I would have written this last night except we got back pretty late from their wedding.

It was a beautiful ceremony and a wonderful reception. We had a blast and it was such an honor to be there witnessing them unite together as one.

My wedding was just over a year ago and watching them get married brought back so many fond memories…especially since we have the same pastor. And hearing the vows being said all over again still brings tears to my eyes.

For better…for worse.
For richer…for poorer.
In sickness and in health.
To love and to cherish.
From this day forward.
Until death do us part.

Marriages aren’t easy. They take a lot of work and we are pretty much guaranteed that obstacles will come our way..right from the very beginning. In the vows, we promise to be there for each other in the good and bad for all the days of our life.

Weddings are not only a wonderful time to celebrate the union of two friends, but to remember how special your own marriage is. They remind me to always honor my husband and to love him no matter how many times he screws up. 🙂 They remind me of how special the promise is that we made to each other and how I will honor that promise for all the days of my life. They remind me to continually celebrate the amazing relationship we have and it excites me to see how we will build a future together.

The next time you go to a wedding.. Try not to think about what food will be served, whether there will be an open bar or how the decorations look, but rather take the time to celebrate the new relationship forming and the beauty of your own.

