Tags

, , , , , ,

I had a wonderful dinner with some great new friends this evening. While we didn’t agree on who to cheer for while watching the basketball game (Notre Dame vs. Louisville), we did have a fun time “harassing” each other. 😉 We have a lot in common, both as couples and individually. And I can’t wait to see how our friendship grows.

When was the last time you formed a new friendship? And I don’t mean a friendship as in you befriending your new hair stylist or personal trainer? When was the last time you truly found a new friend?

As most of you know, I love meeting new people and I enjoy helping people feel comfortable and welcomed in new situations. I know all too well what it’s like to be the new person and I know exactly how it felt to feel so out of place. I’ve made it one of my “life goals” to help others to feel more welcomed than I once felt. And at the same time this has enabled me to meet a lot of new people and form friendships that may have otherwise not happened.

Is there someone God is laying on your heart to reach out to? Everyone could use a new friend. And no one was ever hurt by a simple smile, hello or hug. Maybe God is laying that person on your heart because that person could use the encouragement, support and love that you can offer them. I don’t know who God is telling you to reach out to or for what reason, but I do know that He has a reason for everything he does.

God never said we could have too many friends. Each of my friends are in my life for different reasons and I value each one of them greatly. Go, listen to God and help make a difference in someone else’s life by being a friend and most likely you’ll get even more in return. The more you give…the more you get.

Before I go, I’m going to leave you with this song from my childhood…

“Make new friends, but keep the old. One is silver, the other is gold. A circle is round, it has no end. That’s how long, I will be your friend. A fire burns bright, it warms the heart. We’ve been friends, from the very start. You have one hand, I have the other. Put them together, We have each other. Silver is precious, Gold is too. I am precious, and so are you. You help me, and I’ll help you and together we will see it through. The sky is blue, The Earth is green. I can help to keep it clean. Across the land, Across the sea. Friends forever, We will always be.”

Gotta love the Girl Scouts..

