Tags

, , , ,

I had to say goodbye to a dear friend of mine this evening. It was one of the hardest things I’ve had to do in quite a while. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve experienced death before. It’s just that in most of those cases, I wasn’t given the opportunity to actually say goodbye.

While it’s nice to be able to share some final thoughts and words with a loved one, it’s also extremely difficult. I held his hand for a while and just sat there and cried. I prayed to God for his comfort and peace. I wanted nothing more than his entrance into heaven to be a peaceful one without a struggle and completely pain-free. Before Christopher and I left, I took his hand, shared with him some final thoughts and said one last, heartfelt goodbye.

My friend has cancer (I use present tense because I’m not sure if he has passed away yet)… he was diagnosed a few years ago, but his condition recently took a drastic turn for the worse. The past few months of his life he spent getting things in order and making amends where necessary. I like to believe that he was ready for this day…fully prepared to be accepted into God’s kingdom. He was a wonderful man of such great faith and left many footprints on the hearts of those that surrounded him.

I pray that when the day comes for me to leave this earth that I will be as ready as he was and looking forward to meeting our Father. I pray that I will leave a mark here on earth…I don’t need to change the world, but I hope I can make some kind of difference. I want to love as much as I can, laugh as much as humanly possible and serve our God with a childlike faith. No one knows when they will take their last breath…for all we know it could be tomorrow, we just don’t know.

I’m not ready to go by any means, but I do know that I need to be spiritually ready. Are you prepared for your judgement day? How are you preparing yourself on a daily basis? It’s time for all of us to truly start living every single day as if it was our last.

