Tags

, , , ,

One of my very best friends lives in New Jersey. We obviously don’t see each other that often and we don’t talk nearly as much as either of us would like, but we have a strong friendship nonetheless. She is one of those friends that you know you will be friends with for a lifetime. And I pray that each of you have at least one friend like her, where you can pick up where you left off as if you never left each other’s side.

As most of you know, Christopher and I celebrate our one year anniversary this weekend. While we don’t have the money to do anything too crazy, we are going away for the weekend. We are staying at a gorgeous bed and breakfast in Colonial Williamsburg. Neither of us have been to Williamsburg since we were kids (except for shopping of course), so we figured it would be a great experience. We are both so looking forward to our weekend away, without any worries, without any stresses..simply to celebrate our first year together as a married couple. And thanks to another one of my very best friends, we are able to leave our dog, Twizzler behind knowing she will be in wonderful hands.

When I came into work this morning, I had an email from my dear friend. She had sent us a virtual gift card to a local bakery (It’s amazing how technology has changed over the years, huh?). She sent us the gift card in celebration of our anniversary and she knows how much we both love sweets! Christopher and I are going to order some scrumptious desserts to take with us this weekend. It is truly the icing on top of the cake (no pun intended) for our celebration! What a wonderful way to make our special weekend even more special! I can’t thank her enough for her kindness and generosity.

Friends are such wonderful gifts to us from God. He has blessed me with so many amazing friends and I cannot thank Him enough for that. I know each of them are in my life for a different reason and they are all different in their own remarkable ways. However, I think too often we take advantage of those friendships and just like a marriage, each relationship needs nurturing. I encourage you to reach out to an old friend whom you miss or a new friend whose name has been laid upon your heart. God gave us friends so we can grow together, even in our most difficult times. “Blessed are they who have the gift of making friends, for it is one of God’s best gifts. It involves many things, but above all, the power of going out of one’s self, and appreciating whatever is noble and loving in another.” – Thomas Hughes One of God’s greatest gifts is the gift of friendship…treasure it.

“We were made to love and be loved But the price this world demands will cost you far too much I spent so many years just trying to fit in Now I’ve found a place in this circle of friends In a circle of friends we have one Father In a circle of friends we share this prayer That every orphaned soul will know And all will enter in To the shelter of this circle of friends.” – Circle of Friends by Point of Grace (You can listen to the whole song on YouTube here)

