Tags

, , , , ,

I can’t be thankful enough that today is over. The 15k this morning was absolutely brutal. And I really have no intention of ever running that race again.

Not only was it freezing outside, but we also got a late start. I guess that’s what ya get for running behind. And the cherry on top that made this day even more wonderful… I pulled my hamstring in the middle of the race and heard a pop in my knee around mile eight. I have never been in so much pain during a race. I can’t tell you how many times I told Chris how badly I wanted to quit. I wouldn’t wish that pain on my worst enemy.

To be honest, I’m not even sure how I managed to cross the finish line. I tried praying throughout the run, but all I could think about was how frozen I felt. If you know me at all, you know I get cold very easily. I have my heated mattress on high 365 days a year. So today was unbearable for me to say the least. But somehow I made it the entire 9.3 miles without crying. 🙂

Right after I hurt my knee, I kept saying Philippians 4:13 over and over. I didn’t care at that point what place I finished in..I just wanted to finish the darn thing in one piece. I’m so thankful that I found the strength to stick it out and that I didn’t get hurt any more than I did. I saw plenty of people quit at various points in the race, but I’m no quitter and even if I wanted to Chris wouldn’t have let me. He would have said something like “What doesn’t kill ya, only makes you stronger” or “Pain is only temporary, victory is forever.” It would have annoyed me, but he would have been right. I am so blessed to have such a wonderful husband who never left my side and kept encouraging me throughout the race to keep going.

Today was a clear picture of what a cold day in hell would be like for me. And it will be a true cold day in hell when I run that stupid race again.

