Tags

, , , ,

Chris and I are running a 15k tomorrow. At race time, the temperature is going to be in the teens. I guess that’s why they call it the Frostbite 15k. I’m not looking forward to it at all. I ran a couple miles this morning with a training team in preparation for the Monument Ave 10k and I about froze my butt off. I love to run, but at this point I’m thinking this is insane.

It seemed like such a good idea when we signed up, but now I’m full of regret. In reality, I’m sure we’ll be fine. My hands may have icicles on them when we cross the finish line, but we will still finish it with a pretty decent pace (fingers crossed). I’m just praying that I stay focused and that I don’t get too frustrated. With the below freezing temperatures, I’m nervous I will get too caught up with the cold and want to give up.

My plan of attack? A prayer run. I prayed throughout the last mile of the half marathon and that seemed to keep me going so I’m going to do it again. There’s really no better time to get real with God than when you’re all alone out on the road. Especially during long distance runs when you are running for two hours or more, you have so much time to talk with God.

How do you like to spend time with God? In the car, before you go to bed, in the shower? If you don’t have a set time each day to talk with God, I challenge you to examine your schedule and find a time that works best for you. Those personal times spent with God are so precious and grow your relationship with Him beyond comprehension. Please don’t miss out on this valuable time…

