Tags

, , , , , , ,

Looking back on my life, I know I’ve lived a very protected and blessed life. I haven’t had any major life-altering events happen and I am forever thankful to our amazing God for that. He has blessed my family more than we deserve. And maybe this is one reason as to why I am taking Twizzler’s cancer so hard. However, I’ve recently been going through a struggle to put things in perspective.

Some very close friends of mine are going through some major ordeals. A good friend from church recently had surgery on her brain to remove a tumor (thankfully, benign). A friend from college lost her job last week and is in the middle of buying a house. A friend of my parents just lost his first granddaughter and his brother has been given 48hrs to live as his system is shutting down. A lady I’m in Bible Study with has a friend who was just diagnosed with cancer and has small children. This past Tuesday, my step-father-in-law took his father off life support and he passed away later that night.

My point.. life could be worse. I’m starting to see my situation in a different light. I realize that no matter how difficult my life may seem, there is always someone else going through something far more difficult. It doesn’t make my problems go away or make them any easier, but it does help to put them in perspective. James 1:2-3 says, “Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.”

Is there something in your life that you need to put into perspective? Maybe life isn’t so bad after all.

