Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

After I left work yesterday, I broke the silence. I decided to call FETCH a Cure myself. I couldn’t resist it any longer; I just had to know. I was expecting them to tell me that they hadn’t reached a conclusion yet or that someone would have to give me a call later. Instead, I got the answers I so longed to hear.

They had reached a decision. The board had decided to grant us roughly $900 to put towards Twizzler’s treatment. First reaction, I’ll be honest..it wasn’t an overjoyed one. While I knew the likelihood of us getting a great deal from the organization was going to be slim, I had high hopes. When I had talked to the oncologist earlier, she made it seem like we were going to be getting a ton of money. And when I heard the exact amount, let’s just say I was a little less than thrilled. $900 in the grand scheme of things is not very much. However, after letting it sink in, I have a much different response.

Without that organization, we would still be paying that extra $900. That money is truly a gift from God and will definitely be a blessing to our family. I know God won’t give us anything we can’t handle and Chris and I are prepared to make whatever sacrifices necessary to provide Twizzler’s treatment. I guess I wanted it to be easy. I wanted it all to be handed to me. How selfish, huh? But now I realize what a blessing each dollar of that gift is. Chris will pick up a part-time job just like he did last summer when I got laid off from my job. I will continue working at my part-time job, but just pick up more hours. No, life won’t be easy and a lot of sacrifices will have to be made… but…whoever said life was supposed to be easy? A little financial struggle won’t break us, that’s for sure.

When we were going through our marriage counseling with our pastor, he told us that finances are one of the main reasons couples fight. Money is the leading cause for divorce. According to a survey done by Citibank, 57% of divorced couples cited financial problems as the primary reason for the demise of their marriage.Β Isn’t that sad? Thankfully, Chris and I are on the same page and we both have a faith in Christ that will pull us through anything. Hebrews 13:5-6 says, “Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said, ‘Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.’ So we say with confidence, ‘The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid. What can mere mortals do to me?'” As believers, this powerful promise assures us that God is sufficient for all our needs. In Matthew 6, Jesus tells us that we can love money or we can love God, but we cannot love both. We can either depend on earthly treasures to supply our needs, or we can depend on God to supply, but we cannot trust both.

I know He will never leave us and will help us see this through to the end. Our God has never forsaken us before and has always proved to provide, so why doubt Him now?Β I’m so thankful that I believe in such a powerful and merciful God!

