Tags

, ,

I’m sure you’ve all been asked at one point or another.. “If you had a chance to go back in time, which time would you go back to?” Some would say they would go back to the 50’s because that’s the time period they were meant to live in.. some would say they would go back and visit some famous person like Martin Luther King, Jr. or Thomas Edison or even Jesus. But what if you only had one hour, would go back in time for the same thing?

There’s no doubt in my mind that I would love to go back and meet Jesus face to face..I definitely have a million questions to ask Him. But to go back in time for only one hour, that’s not where I would go. I would go back to a year when all of my grandparents were still alive. Unfortunately, all of my grandparents died before I even turned five. In fact, I never met either of my grandfathers. To go back and meet them and spend some time just hanging out with them would mean the world to me.

I wouldn’t spend my time asking for advice or even learning about the world they grew up in..Rather, I would spend my time getting to know them. Granted, I know the basics from what my parents told me, but I would want to get to know the real person behind those “fast facts.” What were their dreams…their fears…their innermost secrets? I would love to just sit in a room with all four of them and just chat without interruption. And before my hour was over, I would make sure to take a walk to the nearby park with Emmy (my grandmother on my mom’s side). It’s one of my fondest memories. We would hold hands, cross the street and walk up this huge hill to the park. (In actuality, that hill that I thought was so large as a child was really just a ditch…) And we would swing on the swings for just a few moments before we parted our ways.

Even though I haven’t had my grandparents with me here on earth, I know they are with me wherever I go. My grandparents hold a special place in my heart and I cannot wait for the day when we are reunited together in heaven. I will finally have that chance to talk with them without interruption.. but this time, we would have all the time in the world.

What would you do if you had the chance to go back in time for just one hour?

Emmy, my mom, my sister and I

