Tags

, , , ,

Before I take a look ahead, I want to fill you in a little about this past year. While a lot of people are glad that 2010 has come and gone, I can’t help but be a little sad. I experienced a lot of monumental events this year. I got married January 30th – the snowiest day of the year with almost two feet of snow. It was a little hectic getting everything organized, but it ended up being just perfect (thanks to my wonderful family and friends). That day would not have been possible without those closest to me. On a day that we celebrated the love between my husband and I, it was such a humbling moment seeing how loved we were by the 150 people or so that showed up despite the ‘blizzardy’ conditions. What a blessing it is to have so many people that love you like that in your life!

Another monumental event in 2010 was the purchase of our very first home. We took advantage of the “Obama money” for first-time homebuyers and the horrible real estate market. We bought a short sale.. that wasn’t so short, but ended up working out just fine. To be exact, we put an offer on the house in August 2009, but didn’t receive a final contract until January 2010.. right before the wedding. As if a wedding wasn’t crazy enough, add buying a house in there and things get really interesting. Anyways, we moved in about two weeks after we returned from our honeymoon and things have been great since. And thankfully, we had a terrific realtor that stuck with us throughout the whole process. Since then, we’ve been slowly updating the house and fixing anything the previous owners didn’t feel was necessary…that’s what ya get for buying a short sale. Oh well, we love the house and are anxious to continue to update it and improve it over the years. It’s way bigger than two people need, but it will be great for starting a family.

Well… I got married and bought a house..what’s next? I’m having a baby. Just kidding. That is far from being on our “to do” list. We are just loving living together as newlyweds and embracing each day’s challenges together as a couple.

A look ahead.. well I can only hope that 2011 has as much excitement as 2010 did. The likelihood is slim, but hey, a girl’s gotta dream. 🙂 One thing I am truly looking forward to is my involvement in Chrysalis. I haven’t teamed on a Chrysalis flight in years, but for some reason God has been pulling at my heart to get back involved. I turned in a teaming application, this time as an ‘adult’ and thought I’d put the whole thing in God’s hands. Well, about a week ago I receive a phone call asking me to team on the upcoming flight (March 10-13) and boy am I looking forward to it. I don’t know what my position on the team is yet and I don’t even know why God has called me to do this.. I just know I am on the team for a purpose and I am so excited to see how God uses me.

